5 Reasons to Learn Your Child's Love Language Balance Me Happy

Why Is It Important to Learn Your Child’s Love Language

All people have different ways of expressing and receiving love. It is the way that you express your love to someone that determines how they feel about you. There is no right or wrong way to show or feel love but knowing your child’s primary love language will help give them what they need.

For example, I know my daughter’s primary love language is quality time, therefore I make it a priority to spend one on one time even in the morning before school.

My son enjoys physical touch, with hugs. In the morning he waits for me to tickle him to wake him up.

The importance of knowing your child's love language is that it teaches you how to best communicate with them. It also helps you to understand your child better and how each child has different needs.

The article explains what the 5 love languages are and the importance of learning your Child’s Love Language.

What Are The 5 Love Languages?

The 5 love languages are ways to communicate love. They have existed since the existence of love but were labeled by Gary Chapman in 1992. The 5 love languages are important because everyone has a different way of showing and feeling love. This doesn’t mean you focus on just one of these, everyone needs all of these to feel loved, but each of us has a primary which affects us the most. Following are the 5 love languages:
5 languages of love Balance Me Happy

1. Words Of Affirmation

Words of affirmation are a way of expressing love, care, and support. They can be used to express the things that we want to hear but often don't have the words for. Many people use words of affirmation as a way to express their love and care for their loved ones. They might say things like "I love you" or "I'm proud of you". These types of affirmations are usually done in person and over time.

Words of affirmation are not only important in romantic relationships but also in everyday life. People who are struggling with self-esteem or low self-worth can benefit immensely from affirmations.
When parents tell their children how much they love them or how proud they are of them, it can do wonders for their self-esteem.

2. Acts Of Service

Acts of service are the most common love language. They are the small gestures that people do for each other on a daily basis. An act of service is a selfless gift that you give to someone without expecting anything in return. It can be something as simple as cooking your child’s favourite dinner, or dropping them off at the school bus stop when it’s raining.

3. Quality Time

Quality time is one of the most important aspects of a relationship. It’s the time when families talk about their day, share a meal, or just enjoy each other’s company.

Quality time can be done in a lot of ways - physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. Parents can spend quality time with their kids in so many ways such as:

  • Playing Games
  • Reading Books
  • Going on family trips
  • Watching movies together
  • Bike Riding

4. Physical Touch

Physical touch is the most common love language in the world. It can be a hug, a pat on the back, or even a simple touch. This is why it is important for people to make sure that they are giving physical touch to their loved ones.

We all know that physical touch is important for children. It helps them learn about their body, social skills, and comfort. Physical touch is a way of expressing love to others in a physical way. Parents can show love through physical touch in many ways such as by a hug, a back rub, a kiss, or holding hands. My son likes me playing with his hair and massaging his head.

5. Receiving Gifts

The love language of receiving gifts is very important to people. It is said that the act of giving gifts to your loved ones can make them feel appreciated, loved, and cared for. Receiving gifts from your loved ones makes them feel special and wanted. This is why it is important for people to find out what their love language is and give accordingly. This doesn’t have to be an expensive present this could be a sample of dinner or dessert, a picked flower or fruit from the garden, or a homemade present just for them.

Why Is It Important To Learn Your Child's Love Language

Knowing your child’s primary love language will help you as a parent in many ways. This will help you understand and nurture your child in the best way possible. Love is an important part of parenting. It helps parents show their love to their children in a way that they can understand and appreciate. But how do parents know what their kids' primary love language is? There are many ways to figure out your kid's primary love language, but one of the most popular is by taking a quiz.

There are also some other things that can help you figure out what your kid's primary love language might be, such as observing them with other family members or friends and asking them questions about their relationship with each of those people. You could ask your child how they feel about each of the languages. Knowing and learning about your child as they grow up can give you an indication of which could be their primary. Having said this, their primary can and often will change as they grow up. Their priorities and needs will change especially when they move out and start living an adult life.


Love languages aka different ways to show love are a big part of the human experience and they can help us understand how to connect better with others. When it comes to relationships, the language that you speak is an important factor. There are so many benefits to knowing your child’s love language such as an increase in self-esteem and they will learn to express themselves through their primary love language effectively.

Also, teaching your child their primary love language can help them develop more empathy for others, build stronger relationships and learn to better express themselves.

Every person has a primary love language. It is the way that they best receive and show love to others. When children are shown love in their primary language, they learn how to be more empathetic and will naturally express themselves in a way that makes them feel loved and appreciated.

Be sure to check out our FREE Printables created especially for you and your children. We also have printable gratitude journals, affirmation cards, and mindfulness colouring to help teach your kids to develop positivity, a growth mindset, high self-esteem and much more!

Check Out These Products On Amazon:
building balance me happy
lego-building balance me happy
sudoku-balance me happy
Match-madness balance me happy

Have fun in your self-healing journey!

Blog Categories

Balance Me Happy Grounding-Journal
Balance Me Happy Grounding-Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *